Chris Holden

Chris Holden brings over 25 years of early stage investing and company-building experience to Court Square Ventures in Charlottesville, Virginia, including 11 years with Rupert Murdoch’s News Corporation in a variety of senior operating, strategy, and executive management roles. From 1995 to 2000 he served as Chief Executive Officer of Kesmai Corporation, a wholly owned software and technology subsidiary of News Corp, which he sold to Electronic Arts and America Online. Prior to becoming CEO of Kesmai, Mr. Holden was vice president of News Technology Group, which held company-wide responsibility for investing in technology and new media businesses, as well as managing the integration and deployment of new technologies across News Corp business units worldwide. He also served on News Corp’s Global Interactive Strategy Taskforce, was a member of the executive team that created iGuide (a joint venture between News Corp and MCI which later became TV Guide Interactive and merged with Gemstar Corporation), and was a senior executive with the News Digital Media Group, which oversaw the online operations of a number of News Corp companies.

Prior to joining the News Technology Group, he co-founded the Advanced Media Group for HarperCollins Publishers in New York (a News Corp company) and served as corporate vice president. While at News Corp, Mr. Holden served as a director of numerous private companies in the IT, Software, and media sectors. Mr. Holden left News Corp in 2000 to co-found Court Square Ventures. He has been a board member in CSV I portfolio companies CSTV (sold to CBS), Logic Library (sold to SOA Software), and Verance (still operating). Currently, he is a director of CSV II portfolio companies Emerging Media Group, Grab Networks, Echo360, and Mobile Posse. He serves on the board of the Martha Jefferson Hospital Foundation, the University of Virginia Patent Foundation, and was appointed by Virginia Governor Tim Kaine to the Board of Visitors of Virginia State University. He is a graduate of Woodberry Forest School and Davidson College.